Gluten Free Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

Gluten-Free Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

Gluten-Free Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

I love to cook, when I’m in the mood, and love to share what I create.  My son, the blogger, has been encouraging me (translated:  bugging me) to submit a guest gluten free post as I have been adapting recipes since I found out I had celiac disease last year.    Professionally, I’m an educator in an elementary school in Illinois.  I love teaching, but cooking has always been a passion.  My problem with writing about my cooking and baking is that I’m not really great about following or using a recipe.  For the reader, and for Matt, I’ll do my best to keep track of ingredients and quantities if you promise to tweak it to your personal tastes!

Tonight I made a strawberry rhubarb crisp with rhubarb from the freezer and fresh strawberries that was loved by the entire family … and it was gluten free!  I used the gluten free flour blend from America’s Test Kitchen, but you can substitute any blend that you like.

First, preheat the oven to 375.

In a large bowl, place

  • 6 cups chopped rhubarb (½ inch slices)

    The filling

    The filling

  • 2 cups strawberries quartered
  • 1 ¼ cup sugar (I like it tart!)
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon freshly grated orange zest (or more … )
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice (I used a clementine for both)

Wash your hands and toss the contents of the bowl until well mixed.

Pour into a 9×13 glass pan and set aside.

Reuse that same large bowl, place

  • 1 cup gluten free flour blend

    And topping...

    And topping…

  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (or more … I really like cinnamon)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup gluten free oats
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 ½ sticks (¾ cup) softened butter

Use a pastry blender, two knives, or your fingers to cut together until it looks like streusel topping.

Almost

Ready for the oven now…

Almost there!  Pour the crisp topping on top of the strawberries & rhubarb and spread out.  Bake on the middle rack of the oven, uncovered, for 30 minutes at 375.  After 30 minutes, turn the oven down to 325 and bake until bubbling, about 30 minutes.  Delicious with vanilla ice cream or fresh whipped cream.

Gluten free baking doesn’t hold up for very long.  Refrigerate after it cools and eat within 3 days.

Posted on September 18, 2014, in Baking, Cooking, Sweets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

