Do I need a CV?

There are days when the only thing that qualifies me to do my job is passion. I had a bad day, made some rookie mistakes, mistimed something, burnt some turkeys. But at the end of it all, the love was still there.

I’m not a master chef, haven’t run a whole restaurant, though I have run a line for breakfast, lunch and dinner. But I don’t want to teach people how to work in a professional kitchen, just help them cook like they do.

I love food, making it or eating it. I especially love feeding other people. Given my mother and the culture of food she raised me in, this shouldn’t be surprising. So I’m going to commit myself to sharing this love and the plethora of knowledge that accompanies it with as many people as I can.

Maybe one day it’ll be a recipe. All recipes are guidelines, constant works in progress that get tweaked at every pass. I’ll share my experiments, success and failure, and the process I take to get there.

I want to answer questions and take requests, to inspire a dialogue about food. How quality does not have to be expensive, how to cook in large scale, with leftovers to stash in the freezer. How to trick your toddler into eating gourmet healthy meals.

And my wife, along with some of my other friends, may join me along the road. I know she wants to share stories of being my culinary guinea pig.  Heck, maybe I can get my mom to write too.

So please join me, for these meals and stories, for the joy and love of food. My name is Matt, and this is the Laughing Cook.

About mthomasmaenpaa

Father, writer, geek, food-lover

Posted on June 27, 2014, in Cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

